The Dawn of Happiness

Elvie
2 min readNov 29, 2023
Sailing Boat in Croatia
A sight from the Boat Deck capturing Anna along Croatia’s coastline, with all the guys on board in a state of drunken slumber, accompanied by loud snores. Image by Elvie Liins.

One morning, I tagged along with my husband and his pals for my first sailing adventure in the Croatian Mediterranean. They partied hard each night, but I’m not into the whole drinking and smoking scene.

So, in the midst of their late-night antics and booze-filled slumber, their snores sounded like a crazy orchestra playing Beethoven in their bunks. Feeling a bit overwhelmed, I quietly slipped out and made my way to the boat deck.

Surprisingly, the sea was super chill, and I soaked in the peace and quiet. I found a cozy spot, all by myself, and watched the sunrise unfold — it was like having my own personal IMAX show right there on the boat.

Feeling inspired, I pulled out my phone and jotted down a poem in my notes.

Dawn of Happiness

In the gentle embrace of morning’s glow,
Where shadows yield, letting happiness flow,
A vibrant palette paints the sky,
Welcoming a new day with a heartfelt sigh.

Witness the canvas brushed in dawn’s embrace,
A masterpiece woven with morning’s grace,
As sunlight ascends, a golden kiss bestowed,
The world stirs awake in joyous abode.

--

--

Elvie

Writes about #Travel, #Photography, #Life, and #Poetry. Message me at @successwitheve on Twitter and email me at successwitheve@gmail.com